Join ACS
Member Login
Home \ Organization \ Grants & Merit Awards \ History of the Merit Awards

A History of the ACS Merit Awards

Merit Awards were first given out in 1995. A committee was formed that included Don Howse (Oregon) Richard Eyre (Illinois) and Nancy Vermeulen (New Jersey) who also served as first chairperson. The committee solicited nominees from the membership and submitted them to the Board of Directors who voted on the winners.

Subsequent committee chairs were Clark West in 1996, Chub Harper in 1997/98, Charlene Harris 1999/2001, Don Howse 2002/2009 and Susan Martin 2010/2013. The current chair of the committee is Dennis Groh. Since 1996, nominations for award nominees have been solicited directly from the membership with a notice in Conifer Quarterly. Ballots are prepared by the committee chair and sent to all former award recipients. A tally of the vote is given to the ACS Board of Directors at the winter board meeting for approval.

Former award recipients are:

Justin C. “Chub” Harper Award of Merit for Development in the Field of Conifers (before 2011 known as the Award of Merit for Development In the Field of Conifers)  Marvin & Emelie Snyder Award for Dedicated Support of the American Conifer Society (before 2004 known as the Award of Merit for Dedicated Support of the ACS)
YEAR Recipient Recipient
1995 James Cross, New York Bill Wells, Pennsylvania
1996 Edward Rezek, New York Chub Harper, Illinois
1997 Richard Bush, Oregon Susan Martin, Maryland
1998 Sidney Waxman, Connecticut Charlene Harris, Michigan
1999 John Verkade, New Jersey R. William Thomas, Pennsylvania
2000 Alfred Fordham, Massachusetts Don Howse, Oregon
2000 Tom Dilitush, New Jersey
2001 Joe Stupka, Pennsylvania Richard Eyre, Illinois
2002 John Mitsch, Oregon Larry Stanley, Oregon
2003 Jerry Morris, Colorado Bob Fincham, Washington
2004 J. R. P. van Hoey Smith – Netherlands Marvin Snyder – Kansas
2005 Joel Spingarn – Connecticut Gary Whittenbaugh – Iowa
2006 Dennis Dodge – Connecticut Ridge Goodwin – Pennsylvania
2007 Paul Halladin – Oregon Maud Henne – Virginia
2008 Chub Harper – Illinois Frank Goodhart – New Jersey
2009 Marty Brooks – Pennsylvania Kathleen Pottratz – Oregon
2010 Larry Stanley – Oregon Jordan Jack – North Carolina
2011 Ron Determann – Georgia Clark West – Ohio
2012 Gary Gee – Michigan Flo Chaffin – North Carolina
2013 Kurt Wittbodt-Mueller – Verden (Germany) Dennis Groh – Michigan
2014 Derek Spicer – Lutterworth (England) Bill Barger – Ohio
2015 Bob Fincham – Washington Ethan Johnson – Ohio
2016 Adrian Bloom – Foggy Bottom (England) Tom Cox – Georgia
2017 Bill Barger – Ohio Don Wild – Michigan
2018 Andy Duvall – MIchigan Elmer Dustman – New York